CHESHIRE EAST COUNCIL

Minutes of a meeting of the Local Authority School Governor Nomination Panel held on Monday, 6th February, 2017 at Committee Suite 2/3 - Westfields,

Middlewich Road, Sandbach, CW11 1HZ

PRESENT

Councillor G M Walton (Chairman) Councillor G Williams (Vice-Chairman)

Councillors H Gaddum, A Harewood and D Mahon

Officers

Sarah Baxter, Democratic Services Officer Cherrie Creager, School Settings and Services Mike Harris, School Liaison and Governance Manager

15 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

There were no apologies for absence.

16 PUBLIC SPEAKING TIME/OPEN SESSION

No members of the public were present.

17 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

In the interests of openness, Councillors H Gaddum, A Harewood and G Walton declared that they knew the applicant for Hurdsfield Community Primary School-Mrs Christine Tomlinson, as she was a former Macclesfield Borough Councillor.

18 MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

RESOLVED:

That the minutes of the meeting held on 17 October 2016 be confirmed as a correct record.

19 EXCLUSION OF PRESS AND PUBLIC

RESOLVED:

That the press and public be excluded from the meeting during consideration of the following item, in pursuant to Section 100(A)(4) of the Local Government Act 1972 as amended on the grounds that it involved the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in Paragraph 1 of

Part 1 of Schedule 12A to the Local Government Act 1972 and the public interest would not be served in publishing this information.

20 LOCAL AUTHORITY NOMINATIONS TO SCHOOL GOVERNING BODIES

The Panel considered the Director's report on vacancies within Cheshire East maintained schools and academies and the applications received for nominations to identified posts.

RESOLVED:

That having regard to the statutory guidance in making nominations, the Panel approve the following:

1 Nomination for Appointment

BOLLINGTON CROSS CE PRIMARY SCHOOL Miss Claire Cartwright

KETTLESHULME ST JAMES' CE PRIMARY SCHOOL Prof Dominic Medway

MABLINS LANE PRIMARY SCHOOL Mr Paul Cooke

2 Nominations for Reappointment

HURDSFIELD PRIMARY SCHOOL Mrs Christine Tomlinson

RAINOW PRIMARY SCHOOL Mr Julien Rye

21 DATE OF NEXT MEETING

The next meeting is to be held on Monday 3 July 2017 in the Committee Suite, Westfields.

The meeting commenced at 2.00 pm and concluded at 2.35 pm

Councillor G M Walton (Chairman)